top of page

Ethiopia Approves New Charity Law, Reconciliation Commission Members

Ethiopian Parliament on Thursday approves a new civil society law and members of national Reconciliation Commission as well as Administrative Boundary and Identity Issues Commission.

The new charity law is expected to address the challenges of organization engaged in civil society, mainly those involved in advocacy, among others. While the Reconciliation Commission is expected to work towards restoration of peace and stability across the nation.

The 41 members of Reconciliation Commission includes religious figures from different sects as well as politicians like former Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn.

The members includes, from Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church – Abune Abrham, from Ethiopian Catholic Church – Cardinal Berhaneyesus Demerew, from Islamic Affairs Supreme Council – Haji Umer Edris, Ustaz Ahmedin Jebel – from young Islamic scholars and from Ethiopian Evangelical Church – Dr Bete Mengistu.

It also includes, Pastor Tesfaye Gabiso – from Ethiopian Evangelical Church, Tamiru Lega- from young Orthodox scholars. The team also includes: Dr Mihret Debebe – psychiatrist, Megabi Hadis Eshetu Alemayehu, World Laureate Dr Tibebe Yemane Berhan – Health practitioner and dignitary, Prof. Beyene Petros – Academician, Dr Abera Deresa and Dr Ubah Adem – academicians, Prof. Hizkias Asseffa – peacemaker, and Prof. Asefa Hailemariam – from Addis Ababa University.

The team also includes, Dr Dereje Gerefa- Health specialist, Artist Debebe Eshetu, Dr Muse Yakob – author, Ms Blen Sahlu ad Tamirat Kidanemariam – lawyers, Abbaa Gedaa Gobena Holla, Leuel Ras Mengesha Seyoum, Darrota Dejamo and Kao Demise – elders, Dr Bogalech Gebre – philanthropist and Abate Kisho – from elders of Sidama people

It also involved politicians like Dr Berhanu Nega and Eng. Gidey Zeratsion as well as Ayalneh Mulatu – author, Athlete Derartu Tulu – from Ethiopian Athletics Federation, Prof. Ahmed Zekaria – academic, Colonel Goshu Wolde – From prominent persons, Sultan Hanfre Alimirah – from elders of Afar people, Athlete Gebregziabher Gebremariam, Leul Bedemariam Mekonnen – from prominent persons, Ms Tirhas Mezgebe – From charity organizations, Dr. Belay Abegaz – health professional, Dr Zeresenay Alemseged – Anthropologist, Dr Solomon Ayele – From AU Peace and Security, and Ms Yetnebersh Nuguse – from among the people with disabilities. Read more...

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page